Commonwealth Environmental Water Office banner

Southern catchments

The southern catchments of the Murray-Darling Basin, shown in the unshaded area of the map below, are highly regulated systems that flow through a variety of landscapes across New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia.

The headwaters of both the Murray and the Murrumbidgee catchments originate in the wetter, cooler climate of the Australian Alps before flowing westward into the warmer, drier climate of the floodplains. In comparison to the northern catchments, the southern Murray-Darling Basin catchments are generally cooler with the highest rainfall occurring in winter and spring.

For more information about each catchment, including details about environmental watering actions, click on an area within the map:

Murray catchmentEastern Mt Lofty Ranges catchmentWimmera-Avoca catchmentLoddon catchmentCampaspe catchmentsGoulburn-Broken catchmentOvens catchmentMurrumbidgee catchmentNorthern catchments