Water Management Partnership Agreements


On 21 September 2015, responsibility for water policy and resources was transferred to the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources - Administrative Arrangement Order made on 21 September 2015.

This website will be updated to reflect these changes.

Between November 2009 and January 2010 a set of Water Management Partnership Agreements were completed between the Commonwealth and the Murray-Darling Basin States. The agreements were specified by the Intergovernmental Agreement on Implementing Murray-Darling Basin Reform, and set out specific water planning and market reform requirements, Commonwealth funding commitments for water infrastructure and water savings projects and the process for assessment of progress.

For information on state water infrastructure projects in the Murray-Darling Basin funded under the Water Management Partnership Agreements:

COAG Reform Council Reporting

The COAG Reform Council is responsible for assessing the performance of the parties under the Water Management Partnership Agreements and reports to COAG each September.

From the 2010 reporting year, the COAG Reform Council will also assess the Commonwealth's performance on a set of specific Commonwealth milestones related to water reform in the Murray-Darling Basin.