Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
The Hon Greg Hunt MP
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Federal Member for Flinders

7 June 2006

$150,000 for Kakadu businesses

The Hon.Greg Hunt MP, Parliamentary Secretary with ministerial responsibility for Kakadu National Park, today called for applications for the Kakadu National Park Indigenous Tourism Development Fund 2006.

The Australian Government has made available $150,000 for Indigenous tourism businesses as part of $1.77 million in funding to accelerate the implementation of the report A Shared Vision for Tourism in Kakadu National Park.

"This is exciting news for Indigenous tourism operators who need funds to establish or upgrade infrastructure or who need additional funding support for start-up or promotion," Mr Hunt said.

"The funding is available to Indigenous businesses, communities or associations in or adjacent to Kakadu National Park.

"In an excellent example of collaboration between the Australian and Territory Governments, Tourism NT will manage and promote this funding program on behalf of Parks Australia.

"This funding will help deliver what visitors have long been asking for: an authentic experience with the traditional owners of this land and an insight into customs dating back tens of thousands of years."

Applications should be directed to Richard Austin of Tourism NT. For more details phone: 08 8999 3817.

Applications close: 7 July 2006.

Media contact:
Kristy McSweeney (Mr Hunt's office) 0415 740 722

Commonwealth of Australia