[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Joint Media Release
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Greg Hunt MP
Federal Member for Mallee
John Forrest MP

8 March 2005

Improved Mildura radar images now available

Mr Greg Hunt, Parliamentary Secretary with ministerial responsibility for the Australian Bureau of Meteorology and Mr John Forrest, Federal Member for Mallee, today announced an upgrade to the weather radar imagery available from the Mildura radar on the Australian Bureau of Meteorology's web site.

Mr Forrest said the new display would offer a greater range of radar reflectivity levels, corresponding to different rainfall intensities, and an improved colour display.

"The move from six-level to 16-level radar displays will mean that the public can see more detail in the rainfall echoes that are detected by the radar," Mr Forrest said.

"This is particularly important for agriculturalists and graziers in better understanding local weather conditions and using this knowledge in their day-to-day business."

Mr Hunt said improvements to the weather radar imagery available from the Bureau's website were part of a nationwide upgrade to the website's display.

"As well as providing more detail in the radar display for all radars in the Bureau's network, we have also included topographic background maps and the use of colour palettes that cater for those who are colour-blind," Mr Hunt said.

"The Bureau's radar displays are some of the most popular features of the website and recorded around four billion hits in 2004 - that's around 70% of all visits to the website."

The Bureau is continuing to enhance its weather radar services to the public through the Australian Government's $62 million five-year commitment to replace older and less powerful radar systems throughout Australia.

The Bureau's radar website is located at http://www.bom.gov.au/weather/radar/

Media Contacts:
Fiona Murphy 0423 577 045 (Mr Hunt's office)
Sally Turvey (03) 5032 4510 (Mr Forrest's office)

Commonwealth of Australia