Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
The Hon Dr Sharman Stone
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Federal Member for Murray

7 May 2004

New Antarctic science focus on climate change and environmental protection

Better predicting of future global climate change and protecting the Antarctic environment will be the focus for Australia's new Antarctic science program. 

Parliamentary Secretary responsible for the Australian Antarctic Division Dr Sharman Stone today launched the Science Strategy for Australia's Antarctic Science Program 2004/05 - 2008/09. 

Dr Stone said that Australians' quality of life in the 21 st century would be determined by a range of factors that have global climate origins. 

"To meet those challenges there will be more multi-disciplinary science to underpin climate prediction, Southern Ocean sustainability, sea-level rise and biodiversity conservation," Dr Stone said. 

"Understanding the interactions between ice, ocean, atmosphere and climate will give us a clearer idea of the impacts on such critical issues as future greenhouse gas levels, sea-level rises, the variability and rate of climate change and the 'ozone hole'." 

Dr Stone said that during the next five years Antarctic scientific research would focus on four priority programs:

"Antarctica and the high Southern Ocean are of key importance to Australia because of their proximity to and influence on regional climate processes," Dr Stone said.  

"Because of this and the importance of the Southern Ocean to many of our marine industries, resources must be harvested sustainably. 

"Australia's Antarctic science program plays a significant role in advancing our understanding of how global processes arise, their interaction with the natural environment and their likely consequences." 

Dr Stone said that the Science Strategy for Australia's Antarctic Science Program 2004/05 - 2008/09 demonstrated that the Australian Government took its responsibilities in Antarctica very seriously. 

"Australia's claim to 42% of Antarctica - almost six million square kilometres or roughly the size Australia without Queensland - means our responsibility and commitment to the continent are significant," Dr Stone said. 

"We have played and continue to play a leading role in scientific research and also in the development of policy to ensure that all human activities, whether they be research or tourism-based, have minimal impact on the environment." 

The Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) leads Australia's Antarctic program.  This includes overseeing research through its partnership with the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre (ACE CRC), CSIRO, Bureau of Meteorology and the University of Tasmania.  As well, the AAD supports the research of many scientists, nation and world-wide. 

"Our Antarctic program embraces international collaboration, is a significant contributor to international treaties and research programs and is held in high regard on the world stage." 

Dr Stone said that the Science Strategy for Australia's Antarctic Science Program 2004/05 - 2008/09 was designed to support the Australian Government's role in the Antarctic Treaty System and to enhance our influence on it.  

"Our commitment to Antarctica is that it be valued, protected and understood.  This strategy continues that commitment."

  ** Further information on the Science Strategy: 

Full details of these programs are contained in the Science Strategy for Australia's Antarctic Science Program 2004/05 - 2008/09 available from the Australian Antarctic Division at    The media can obtain copies by email from Patti Lucas (AAD) (03) 6232 3514 or 0439 639 227.

Australian Antarctic Division:
Australia is responsible for four stations: Casey, Davis and Mawson on the Antarctic continent (located in eastern Antarctica) and Macquarie Station in the sub-Antarctic.

Commonwealth of Australia