Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP
Federal Member for Murray
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister
for the Environment and Heritage

2 May 2000

Nominations Now Open for PM's Environment Awards

Australia's top environmental achievers from the community, private and public sectors will be honoured by the Prime Minister as part of celebrations for World Environment Day, 5 June 2000.

Dr Sharman Stone MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Environment and Heritage, said today that nominations were now open for the inaugural Prime Minister's Environment Awards.

"The awards will recognise excellent achievement in environmental works, innovation and enterprise that has helped protect and sustain Australia's natural resources," Sharman Stone said.

"You might be planting trees or grasses in a local park, monitoring water quality in a local stream, helping to protect endangered species or running a community or private recycling program - all these great projects are invited to nominate for the awards."

Award categories include individual achievement, business 'best practice', community achievement, local government, rural and regional leadership, urban, innovation and youth/schools.

To be eligible projects should meet at least two of the following selection criteria:

Dr Stone said she hoped the awards would inspire Australian's by show casing individuals and organisations who have made a real difference in protecting and conserving Australia's unique and fragile landscape.

"This is our chance to say thanks to Australia's unsung environmental heroes, the volunteer community groups, businesses and local authorities who work tirelessly and often anonymously to help restore and protect our natural resources," Sharman Stone said.

Winners will receive a trophy and will be invited to attend a gala luncheon in Adelaide on Sunday, 4 June as guests of the Prime Minister.

Entries close Friday, 12 May 2000. For further information on how to apply please contact the Prime Minister's Awards Secretariat on 02 9248 0154 or visit the award's website online at

Media Inquiries:
Nicole Johnston, Assistant Adviser, 02 6277 2016 or 0419 219 415
2 May 2000

Commonwealth of Australia