Department of the Environment

Archived media releases and speeches

Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water

Nominations open for the 2012 Prime Minister's Water Wise Award

Media release
24 April 2012

Commercial and industrial companies that can demonstrate recent water savings are encouraged to nominate for the 2012 Prime Minister's Water Wise Award.

Announcing the opening of nominations, Senator Don Farrell, Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water, said the award was a great way to celebrate companies that make outstanding efforts to conserve water.

"This is Australia's premier award recognising water efficiency excellence in the commercial and industrial sectors, which typically account for between 15 and 20 per cent of all water used in Australia," Senator Farrell said.

"The Australian Government recognises the immense challenge we face as a nation in preparing for a future with less water and the role government, industry, and individuals play in responding to these challenges.

"I encourage any companies that can demonstrate notable reductions of water use, in comparison to similar facilities, to nominate for the award."

The Prime Minister's Water Wise Award showcases the significant water savings that can be achieved by business.

Judging is based on water savings and takes into account innovation, excellence in project delivery, and the ability for approaches to be replicated at other facilities.

The 2011 Award was won by Queensland-based landscape supply company, Nursery Traders.

The company was recognised for water harvesting and recycling projects that have reduced reliance on potable water by 98.5 per cent per hectare.

"Last year's winner and finalists all showed an outstanding commitment to achieving water savings and overall sustainability throughout their operations," Senator Farrell said.

The Prime Minister's Water Wise Award is part of the Water Efficiency Opportunities program, under the Australian Government's Water for the Future initiative.

Nominations will close on Friday 20 July 2012.

For more information