Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Senator the Hon Robert Hill
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Minister for the Environment and Heritage


25 February 1999

The Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator Robert Hill today announced three new appointments to the Australian Heritage Commission.

They are Ms Jos Chatfield, a farmer, small business proprietor and conservationist from Western Australia; Mr John Temple of Tasmania, a businessman who has been actively involved in the National Trust and Mr Rodney Behenna, a South Australian solicitor.

"These new appointees to the Commission will bring with them a wealth of practical expertise," the Minister said. "Between them they have considerable experience in the rural sector, the business world and with voluntary conservation agencies."

The Australian Heritage Commission is the Commonwealth Government’s adviser on the protection of Australia’s National Estate - the nation’s natural and cultural heritage.

Ms Chatfield is a farmer who runs a tree nursery and landcare consultancy. She is deputy chairman of the West Australian Water and Rivers Commission and is also member of numerous other bodies including water management authorities and conservation groups.

Mr Temple, a former State President of the Tasmanian National Trust and is actively involved in Tasmanian heritage issues.

Mr Behenna is an Adelaide solicitor with particular interests in coastal geography, rural architecture and regional and rural history.

The new Commissioners will be appointed for three years from February 23. They replace three retiring Commissioners, Ms Philippa Menses, Mr Peter Hitchcock AM and Dr Libby Mattiske.

The Minister thanked the former Commissioners for their work and said, " They have each contributed greatly to the conservation of Australia’s heritage at a time of great change and have helped steer the Commission to the development of a more integrated and national approach to heritage."

For further information:
Matt Brown (Senator Hill’s office) 02 6277 7640 or 0419 693 515

Commonwealth of Australia