Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett MP
Minister for Environment Protection, Heritage and the Arts

Appointments to National Cultural Heritage Committee

Media release
26 May 2010

Download the PDF

Arts Minister Peter Garrett today announced new appointments to the National Cultural Heritage Council (NCHC).

“I am delighted Dr Daryl McIntyre has agreed to serve as Chairperson of the NCHC, taking over from Craddock Morton. I am also pleased to appoint Dr Patrick Greene and Professor Kenneth Polk as members for three years and to reappoint Professor Daryl Le Grew. Dr Greene and Professor Polk are replacing Mr Christopher Menz and Mr Simon Molesworth,” Mr Garrett said.

“Dr McIntyre, CEO of the National Film and Sound Archive, is a highly experienced and skilled arts administrator with extensive knowledge of Protection of Movable Cultural Heritage Act 1986 (PMCH Act). He assisted with drafting the PMCH Act and with the implementation of recommendations from previous reviews.

“Dr Greene is currently the CEO of Museum Victoria. He has extensive national and international experience in collections management and heritage issues, including acting as Chair of the United Kingdom’s Expert Panel of the Heritage Lottery Fund, and membership on several committees in the European cultural sector.

“Professor Polk is a Professor of Criminology at the University of Melbourne. He has an extensive background in sociology and criminology, and is a leading expert in art crime and the illicit trade in looted antiquities nationally and internationally. He will be an asset to the NCHC particularly for his ability to advise on issues relating to compliance policy.

“Professor Le Grew is re-appointed to the NCHC until his retirement as Vice Chancellor of the University of Tasmania in December 2010. Professor Le Grew was first appointed to the NCHC in 2006 and has made valuable contributions to its work.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Craddock Morton for his valuable and long standing service as Chairperson of NCHC. Mr Morton was appointed to the position in March 2006. “I would also like to thank Mr Molesworth and Mr Menz for their service to the NCHC. Mr Molesworth was appointed in January 1996 and Mr Menz in March 2006.

“During this time the wealth of experience and knowledge they contributed through the NCHC helped ensure our Australian cultural heritage continues to be preserved for future generations,” Mr Garrett said.

The NCHC plays an important role in the protection of Australia’s movable cultural heritage by advising the Minister on the operation of the PMCH Act, and the National Cultural Heritage Account.

For more information about movable cultural heritage: 

Commonwealth of Australia