Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett MP
Minister for Environment Protection, Heritage and the Arts

Judges for 2010 Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Media release
14 May 2010

Download the PDF

Arts Minister Peter Garrett today announced the judges for Australia's richest book prize, the 2010 Prime Minister's Literary Awards.

"The judges have the challenging and exciting task of reading the 2010 entries and recommending a shortlist and winner of the best literary works of the last year in each of the four categories," Mr Garrett said.

"Professor Peter Pierce will again chair the fiction panel this year and is rejoined by academic Professor John Hay AC and the executive producer of ABC Radio National's Artworks program, Dr Lyn Gallacher.

"Mr Brian Johns AO, who was formerly Publishing Director at Penguin Books Australia and managing director of the ABC and SBS, will chair the Non-Fiction panel. Academic, writer and reviewer Mr Colin Steele and bookseller Dr Faye Sutherland are also Non-Fiction judges. This panel is well credentialed to deal with the diverse subject matter, from biography, history and politics, which the Non-Fiction category attracts.

"Two new award categories have been introduced to this year's awards, so a third panel will assess the Children's and Young Adult Fiction categories.

"This panel will be chaired by Dr Robyn Sheahan-Bright with Ms Mary-Ruth Mendel and Mr Mike Shuttleworth. Dr Sheahan-Bright operates 'justified text' writing and publishing consultancy services, and has wide-ranging experience in writing, publishing and providing professional support for writers and editors. Ms Mendel is a speech and language pathologist and founder of The Australian Literacy and Numeracy Foundation. Mr Shuttleworth is the program manager at the Centre for Youth Literature, State Library of Victoria, and reviews and writes about literature for young people.

"The Prime Minister's Literary Awards, now in its third year, is firmly established, providing important recognition of Australia's best writing. The prize pool of $400,000 reflects this government's commitment to supporting and celebrating outstanding Australian literature."

324 entries have been made to the 2010 Prime Minister's Literary Awards, including 70 fiction, 109 non-fiction, 45 young adult and 100 children's entries.

The shortlists in each category will be announced later in the year.

More information at: .

Commonwealth of Australia