Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett AM MP
Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts

Appointment of Australia Council Literature Board Chair

Media release
8 September 2009

Download the PDF

Minister for the Arts Peter Garrett today announced the appointment of Professor Dennis Haskell as Chair of the Australia Council Literature Board.

"Professor Haskell’s wide-ranging experience as a published poet, editor, critic and academic means he will bring a special appreciation of the sector to the role of Chair of the Literature Board," Mr Garrett said.

"Professor Haskell is an Australian literature specialist and is Professor of English and Cultural Studies and Chair of the Academics Board at the University of Western Australia.

"He was the poetry critic for the ABC Radio National’s Books and Writing program for three years and was awarded the Western Australian Premier’s Award for Poetry in 2006 for his collection All the Time in the World.

Professor Haskell will replace Dr Imre Salusinszky as Chair.

"I extend my thanks to Dr Salusinszky for his dedicated service as Chair of the Literature Board for the last three years," Mr Garrett said.

The Australia Council is the Australian Government's principal arts funding body. The Literature Board supports the Australian literature sector through direct funding for outstanding literary creators, and funding for infrastructure support to the sector and professional development of writers.

The appointment is for a three year term.

Commonwealth of Australia