Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett AM MP
Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts

Dr Greg Ayers to head Bureau of Meteorology

Media release
30 March 2009

Download the PDF

Renowned atmospheric scientist Dr Greg Ayers has been appointed the new director of Australia's Bureau of Meteorology, Environment Minister Peter Garrett announced today.

"It is my real pleasure to announce Dr Ayers appointment today and welcome him to the Bureau. Dr Ayers has impressive experience in both research and policy development and is ideally qualified to lead the Bureau into a new and very challenging era," Mr Garrett said.

"The Bureau is already playing a crucial part in shaping Australia's understanding of and response to climate change and makes a major contribution to emergency management and our ability to predict and cope with weather events at land and at sea. We have seen this most recently as we have dealt with disasters like the recent Victorian bushfires and Queensland floods, and storms and tidal events in our oceans.

"Under the Rudd Government, the Bureau also has a central and expanded role in providing the hydrological information we need to deliver national water reform.

"Dr Ayers has expert knowledge in all the bureau's major fields and I wish him every success in his new role."

Dr Ayers joined the CSIRO in 1975 and has held roles including Chief of Atmospheric Research and since 2005 has been the CSIRO's Chief of CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research.

In 1995, Dr Ayers was awarded the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society's Priestley Medal.

Mr Garrett thanked Dr Neville Smith, who has been Acting Director of the Bureau since the departure of Dr Geoff Love in August 2008.

Commonwealth of Australia