Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

The Hon Peter Garrett AM MP
Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts

Congratulations to Australia's Oscar nominees

Media release
23 February 2009

Download the PDF

Australia has once again confirmed its place as a leader in the global film industry with six Academy Award nominations and one win.

Congratulating the nominees Arts Minister Peter Garrett said they are all deserving recipients of this global recognition for their outstanding work on a variety of films.

"Of special note was Heath Ledger's posthumous award for best supporting actor for his chilling portrayal of the Joker in The Dark Knight. This is a wonderful achievement and cements Heath's place in cinematic history," Mr Garrett said.

"Heath was a true Australian talent and we will continue to mourn his loss, but today also celebrate his success.

"Another Australian working on The Dark Knight, Lee Smith was nominated for best editor along with fellow Australian Kirk Baxter, nominated in the same category, for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

"I'd also like to congratulate Catherine Martin for her second nomination for best costume design. Her stunning period costumes in the film Australia were a key contribution to the visual power of the film. Her Oscar win in 2002 for Moulin Rouge has already proven her global leadership in this field.

"Ben Snow's nomination as a part of the visual effects team for Iron Man is an excellent achievement - especially in light of his two previous nominations.

"Another Australian nominated for their technical artistry behind the scenes is Michael Carlin who was nominated for best achievement in art direction for The Duchess.

"Congratulations also to producer Tamara Anghie who was nominated for best short film for New Boy.

"These nominations confirm the strength of Australia's film industry and the people behind it and I look forward to watching it grow stronger as we head into a very exciting year for Australian film."

Commonwealth of Australia