Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Australian Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Senator the Hon. Ian Campbell

29 September 2006

Minister extends heritage consultation on the Burrup Peninsula

The Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator Ian Campbell, today announced he would seek public comment on the proposed National Heritage List boundary for ancient indigenous rock art and stone arrangements on the Burrup Peninsula and Dampier Archipelago in Western Australia’s north-west.

“The Australian Heritage Council has completed its assessment of the area and advised me of its opinion that the area meets the high threshold for inclusion in the National Heritage List,” Senator Campbell said.

“The Council has also provided a potential boundary for a listing. Agreeing on the right boundary is a key element of ensuring the heritage and economic values of the area can co-exist into the future.

“I have previously publicly stated that I am fully aware of the significant heritage values of the area and of the need to protect these values. I am also very conscious of the enormous economic values of the area and its significance to the nation’s economy.

“We have to get the balance right.

“It is also important to appreciate the geographic scales involved. The boundary proposed by the Council covers 874 sq km, which includes approximately 100 sq km of the Burrup Peninsula itself and most of the islands of the Dampier Archipelago. It is important to remember that the current and proposed economic developments only relate to particular areas on the Burrup Peninsula.

“In seeking public comment I am responding to the large number of requests from owners and occupiers for further consultation, which were received by the Council during the assessment. It is crucial that the boundary and management issues of a listing are thoroughly addressed as part of the decision-making process.

“This is a course of action in keeping with the statutory provisions that underpin the National Heritage system,” Senator Campbell said.

Notices inviting public comment will be published next Tuesday and the Australian Heritage Council’s assessment of heritage values and proposed boundary will also be available from Tuesday. This will start the formal process. Interested groups and individuals will have 40 working days to provide further information in relation to the boundary. Comments must be received by 28 November 2006. More information is available at:

There are now 33 places on the National Heritage List, including the Lake Condah Eel Traps in Victoria and Brewarrina Fish Traps in New South Wales where Indigenous people used sophisticated aquaculture techniques thousands of years before the world’s other cultures.

The full list of National Heritage List places follows.

Media Contact:
Rob Broadfield 02 6277 7640 or 0409 493 902

National Heritage List places

  1. Budj Bim National Heritage Landscape - Tyrendarra Area, VIC
  2. Budj Bim National Heritage Landscape - Tyrendarra Area and Mt Eccles Lake Condah Area, VIC
  3. Royal Exhibition Building National Historic Place, VIC
  4. Dinosaur Stampede National Monument, QLD
  5. Kurnell Peninsula, NSW
  6. Eureka Stockade Gardens, VIC
  7. Castlemaine Diggings National Heritage Park, VIC
  8. Mawson Huts and Mawson Hut's Historic site, Australian Antarctic Territory
  9. Brewarrina Aboriginal Fish Traps (Baiames Ngunnhu), NSW
  10. Port Arthur Historic site, TAS
  11. Glenrowan Heritage Precinct, VIC
  12. Sydney Opera House, NSW
  13. Fremantle Prison, WA
  14. First Government House Site , NSW
  15. Newman College, VIC
  16. Sidney Myer Music Bowl, VIC
  17. ICI Building (former)/Orica House, VIC
  18. Australian Academy of Science building, ACT
  19. Recherche Bay (North East Peninsula) Area, TAS
  20. Richmond Bridge, TAS
  21. HMVS Cerberus, VIC
  22. Melbourne Cricket Ground, VIC
  23. South Australia's Parliament House, SA
  24. Tree of Knowledge, QLD
  25. Dirk Hartog Landing Site 1616, WA
  26. Batavia Shipwreck Site and Survivor Camps Area 1629, WA
  27. Hermannsburg Historic Precinct, NT
  28. The Australian War Memorial and Anzac Parade, ACT
  29. North Head, Sydney, NSW
  30. Point Nepean Defence Sites and Quarantine Station Area, VIC
  31. Old Parliament House and Curtilage, ACT
  32. Glass House Mountains National Landscape, QLD
  33. Rippon Lea House and gardens, VIC
© Commonwealth of Australia