Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Australian Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Senator the Hon. Ian Campbell

15 December 2006

Our National Parks receive highest heritage honour

The Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Ian Campbell, today announced that five of Australia’s outstanding national parks had been placed on the National Heritage List.

The five parks are the Royal National Park and the adjoining Garawarra State Conservation Area (NSW), the Warrumbungle National Park (NSW), Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park (NSW), the Grampians National Park (Victoria) and Stirling Range National Park (WA).

“These five national parks showcase some of Australia’s most beautiful and diverse natural heritage and deserve to be given the nation’s highest heritage honor,” Senator Campbell said.

“Their inclusion on the National Heritage List shows the Australian Government’s commitment to conserving Australia’s rich and diverse natural heritage.

“Our heritage distinguishes us. It’s much more than the ‘old’ or ‘outdated’ -- it’s about evolving and living landscapes.”

Senator Campbell said the announcement recognised Australia’s reputation as having some of the most rich and diverse natural heritage in the world and would help ensure the preservation of these parks for future generations.

“Sydney’s Royal National Park has been included in the list with the Garawarra State Conservation Area because of its outstanding richness in plant and animal species and its contribution to the beginning of the Australian conservation movement,” Senator Campbell said.

“Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park has an exceptional concentration of biodiversity with 24 plant communities, more than 1000 native plant species and 100 species of moths and butterflies.

“The dramatic volcanic landscape, biodiversity and stunning natural beauty earned the Warrumbungle National Park its place on the list, while the Grampians National Park was recognised for its powerful landscape, natural beauty and Aboriginal rock art.

“The Stirling Range is an internationally recognised biodiversity hotspot and its inclusion in the National Heritage List will afford it greater protection for future generations.”

The five parks join places such as the Sydney Opera House, the Australian War Memorial, Eureka Stockade and Captain Cook’s landing site on the National Heritage List.

Further information about each natural heritage place can be found at

Media contact:
Rob Broadfield (Senator Campbell's office) 08 9421 1755 or 0409 493 902

© Commonwealth of Australia