Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Australian Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Senator the Hon. Ian Campbell

21 June 2005

A win for whales at IWC

Australian and pro-conservation nations have won an historic vote at the 57th meeting of the International Whaling Commission (IWC) in Ulsan, South Korea, the Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator Ian Campbell said today.

“This is a win for whales,” Senator Campbell said.

“It’s also a win for the people of Australia and other like-minded nations, who were determined that the world would not take a step back towards the re-opening of commercial whaling.

“This morning, the world stood at the edge of an abyss. If pro-whaling nations had succeeded, we would have moved back toward the dark ages of commercial whaling.

“Instead, the world moved forward into an era where conservation and the environment are the winners.”

IWC nations voted on Japan’s proposed “Revised Management Scheme”, which, if successful, would have meant the end of two decades of a moratorium on commercial whaling.

The vote for commercial whaling was supported by 23 pro-whaling nations and opposed by 29 proconservation nations, including Australia. Five nations abstained from voting.

“Pro-whaling nations are on the wrong side of history,” said Senator Campbell.

“This is a critical step in our ongoing fight to see commercial whaling relegated to the history books – a fight we will not give up,” Senator Campbell said.

Media Contact: Renae Stoikos 02 6277 7640 or 0418 568 434

© Commonwealth of Australia