Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Senator the Hon. Ian Campbell

10 February 2005

ACT Waterwatcher earns national recognition

The longest serving Waterwatcher in the ACT has earned a national award in recognition of his outstanding work in protecting local waterways.

Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator Ian Campbell, today congratulated Bayne Geikie and the 13 other recipients of the National Waterwatch Awards, who were announced at a special ceremony in Melbourne last night.

“Bayne is a very deserving winner of this award. He began volunteering in 1993, when Waterwatch first started in the ACT, and has been involved in a range of local projects ever since,” Senator Campbell said.

“According to other local Waterwatchers, Bayne has what could only be described as a ‘cult status' amongst the Waterwatch network in Canberra and Australia wide and he is widely appreciated for his willingness to do above and beyond what is expected of him as a volunteer.

“Bayne has helped with a number of local projects, including re-creating the Sullivan's Creek Wetland, initiating water monitoring at the catchment level as part of a project in the Molonglo catchment and coordinating Aqua Fest, a science festival for local schools which was hosted by Tuggeranong College.”

Waterwatch is a national community water quality monitoring network that encourages all Australians to become involved in the protection and management of their waterways and catchments. The Australian Government started Waterwatch in 1993 in recognition of growing community concern for water quality.

“Since Waterwatch began, the number of monitoring groups has grown from 200 operating in 16 catchments, to nearly 3000 groups in 200 catchments. Around 500 sites are monitored regularly,” Senator Campbell said.

“The Waterwatch network is made up of people like Bayne, community groups and school groups who undertake a variety of biological and habitat assessments and physical and chemical tests to build a picture of the health of their waterways and catchments.

“I congratulate Bayne for his outstanding efforts in protecting his local environments and hope his achievements motivate other Australians to become involved.”

Bayne was nominated for the award by Nigel Philpot from the ACT Government.

For more information on Waterwatch, visit

Media contact:
Senator Campbell's office: Renae Stoikos on 02 6277 7640 or 0418 568 434

© Commonwealth of Australia