Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum Communiqué
Adelaide - October 2005

14 October 2005

Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum fourth meeting

The Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum met for the fourth time today in Adelaide. The Ministerial Forum was established under the Lake Eyre Basin Inter-governmental Agreement, signed by the Australian, Queensland and South Australian Governments in 2000 and the Northern Territory in 2004. The Agreement provides for the sustainable management of water and related natural resources within the Lake Eyre Basin Agreement area.

The Ministerial Forum comprises the Australian Government Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Senator the Hon Ian Campbell (Chairman), the Queensland Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy, the Hon Henry Palaszczuk MP, the South Australian Minister for Environment and Conservation, the Hon John Hill MP and the Northern Territory Minister for Central Australia, the Hon Dr Peter Toyne MP.

During the meeting, Minister Campbell recognised the important contribution being made by members of the Ministerial Forum's Community Advisory Committee and Scientific Advisory Panel.

"The Community Advisory Committee and Scientific Advisory Panel are playing a vital role in supporting the implementation of the Agreement," Minister Campbell said. These two important groups played a key role in securing $480,000 of Natural Heritage Trust funding for a study of people, communities and economies of the Lake Eyre Basin.

This study is one important project being undertaken in 2005-06 and will enhance on ground natural resource management outcomes in the Basin.

Other key outcomes from the meeting included:

A major achievement in 2004-05 was completion of the draft Lake Eyre Basin Hydrological Atlas and the installation of three automatic stream gauging stations in the Basin. "The improved knowledge and understanding of the Basin's hydrology will assist natural resource management planning and activities throughout the Lake Eyre Basin" Minister Campbell said. "The Atlas will also provide important baseline data for the Lake Eyre Basin Rivers Assessment Project."

The Ministerial Forum noted that South Australia had undertaken a review of the boundaries of the Agreement area in that State and that the South Australian Government is considering the outcomes of the review, including possible expansion of the LEB Agreement area in SA.

The Ministerial Forum also noted the cooperative cross border consultation between Queensland, South Australia and the Northern Territory in the development of a water resource plan for the Queensland component of the Georgina and Diamantina Rivers.

"The Lake Eyre Basin Agreement demonstrates a successful partnership between the South Australian, Northern Territory, Queensland and Australian Governments to manage one of Australia's largest and most intact river catchments".

Further Information:
Minister Campbell:   Renae Stoikos    (02) 6277 7640 / 0418 568 434
Minister Palaszczuk:  John Algate    (07) 3896 3689 / 0418 197 350
Minister Hill:   Catherine Hockley    (08) 8463 3166 / 0422 004 434
Minister Toyne:   Mandy Taylor    (08) 8951 5919 / 0414 634 159

Attachment: Lake Eyre Basin Agreement area.

Lake Eyre Basin Agreement area

Lake Eyre Basin Agreement area

© Commonwealth of Australia