Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Go to the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page


Minister for the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts 2001-2004

The Hon Dr David Kemp, MP



Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Australian Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp

14 July 2004

New Commonwealth Heritage List launched

336 Heritage Places Inscribed on New List

The future of some of Australia's most important heritage places has been assured with the announcement that 336 sites around the country would be included on the new Commonwealth Heritage List.

Making the announcement at Australia's most easterly point, the Commonwealth Heritage Listed Cape Byron Lighthouse, Australian Minister for the Environment and Heritage Dr David Kemp said the List would protect the places that played a key role in the development of the Australian nation.

"For the first time ever, Commonwealth properties with natural, indigenous or cultural heritage will be inscribed on a centrally located list that will ensure they are identified and protected in the interests of their true owners - the people of Australia," Dr Kemp said.

Inscription on the List means:

The list was established by amendments to the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act which came into effect earlier this year.

"The places on the list range from the places that are forefront in our mind when we think of our nation, such as Old Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial, but they are equally places that demonstrate many aspects of our nation in local communities such as the TSS John Penn Shipwreck in Broulee, New South Wales; Kissing Point Fort, Townsville, Queensland; Fortuna, in Bendigo, Victoria; the RAAF Base Precinct in Darwin, Northern Territory; the Kalgoorlie Post Office in Western Australia; and Calperum Station in South Australia's Murray Mallee," Dr Kemp said.

"The common denominator for all of these places is that they are managed, owned or leased by the Australian Government.

"This is Australia's largest single group-heritage listing. Natural, Indigenous and built heritage places from the east coast to the west coast and each State and Territory are included on the List.

"This group listing puts in place greater heritage protection and management with the Australian Government setting a high benchmark in managing the heritage values of its own properties.

"This is just the beginning for the Commonwealth Heritage List", Dr Kemp said. "The list is still open for inclusion and any member of the public can nominate a site for listing."

Listing imposes a range of obligations on Australian Government agencies to ensure the protection of heritage places that they own or manage.

Details of sites included on the list are located at

For more information on the Commonwealth Heritage List, go to

Commonwealth of Australia