Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Minister for the Environment and Heritage
The Hon. Dr David Kemp

Ministerial and Business Sustainability Summit Communiqué

13 June 2003

Government and Business Unite for Sustainability

Environment Ministers from Australia and company CEOs from both sides of the Tasman met in Brisbane today at a specially-convened summit to develop a way forward for improved sustainability.

Ministers and industry representatives agreed that a bolder and more urgent pursuit of sustainability practices was essential to underpin Australia’s future growth, prosperity and quality of life.

Ministers and business chiefs from 20 companies who are leaders in sustainability discussed the barriers, opportunities and solutions to sustainability and agreed to develop a collaborative action plan for the future.


The Summit was chaired by the Minister for Environment and Heritage, Dr David Kemp, and hosted by the Queensland Minister for the Environment, Mr Dean Wells.

Australian and New Zealand companies identified many important drivers towards sustainability, including the need for:

Leaders noted that although it is 10 years to the next World Summit on Sustainable Development, it was not long in the context of making the changes needed to increase the sustainability of business.

Agreement was reached to develop a plan of action over the next 12 months that identifies specific actions for business and government to increase sustainability.

The action plan will recognise the importance of partnerships in achieving greater sustainability and will identify ways of ensuring that all sectors - consumers, business and government - are engaged in becoming sustainable.

A small working group of CEOs and senior Commonwealth and State Officials will also develop recommendations for the Environment Protection and Heritage Council (EPHC) Ministers to promote sustainability to industry more broadly.

Ministers and CEOs agreed to meet again in 12-18 months to monitor progress and identify new approaches to promoting sustainability.

Industry Delegates

Mr Ken Asano, Chief Executive Officer, Toyota Motor Corporation Australia Ltd
Mr Linus Bagley, Managing Director, Binna Burra Mountain Lodge Pty Ltd
Mr Steve Bonnici, Director, Urgent Couriers Ltd
Mr Greg Bourne, Chief Executive Officer, BP Australasia
Mr Philip Bullock, Chief Executive Officer, IBM Australia
Mr David Carter, Chief Executive Officer, Austral Fisheries Pty Ltd
Mr Brendan Crotty, Chief Executive Officer, Australand Holdings Ltd
Mr Doug Dean, Managing Director, Collex Pty Ltd
Mr Mark Ford, Chief Executive, Watercare Services Ltd
Mr Dennis Glennon, Managing Director, Environmental Solutions International Ltd
Mr Grant Hunt, Chief Executive Officer, Voyages Hotels and Resorts
Mr David Brookes, General Manager Communications, Amcor Australasia Ltd
Mr John Keniry, Chairman, Ridley Corporation Ltd
Mr Graham Marshall, Managing Director, QM Properties
Dr Russell Peel, Vice President Health Safety & Environment, Foster’s Group Ltd
Mr Paul Perkins, Chief Executive Officer, ACTEW Corporation
Mr Andrew Thomas, Managing Director, Michell Australia Pty Ltd
Mr Stephen Tindall, Executive Director, The Warehouse Group
Mr Adrian Welke, Director, Troppo Architects Pty Ltd
Mr Bob Welsh, Chief Executive Officer, VicSuper Pty Ltd

EPHC Environment Ministers

The Hon Dr David Kemp, Federal Minister for the Environment and Heritage (Summit Chair)
The Hon Dean Wells, QLD Minister for the Environment (Summit Host)
The Hon John Hill, SA Minister for the Environment and Conservation
The Hon Dr Judy Edwards, WA Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water Resources
The Hon John Thwaites, VIC Minister for Environment, Water and Victorian Communities
Mr Bill Bayfield (representing the Hon Marian Hobbs, NZ Minister for the Environment)
Mr Bill Woods (representing the Hon John Stanhope, ACT Minister for the Environment)
Ms Cathy Zoi (representing The Hon. Bob Debus, NSW Minister for the Environment)

© Commonwealth of Australia