Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp

19 August 2002

World Summit on Sustainable Development

Industry, green and development non-government organisations, Commonwealth, State and local government will be represented on Australia's official delegation to the World Summit on Sustainable Development later this month, the Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Dr David Kemp, announced today.

The World Summit on Sustainable Development, to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa, from 26 August - 4 September 2002 marks the tenth anniversary of the Earth Summit - the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Up to 65,000 delegates from 180 countries are expected to attend.

Dr Kemp said that the Commonwealth Government has endeavoured to ensure that all groups and individuals interested in Australia's participation at the Summit have had an opportunity to contribute their views and express interest in being part of Australia's official delegation.

"Australia wants to see the WSSD deliver a solid and sound framework that will encourage people, community groups, business, governments and international organisations to focus on practical and on-the-ground efforts to achieve sustainable development," Dr Kemp said.

"I was encouraged by the strong participation in the consultation forums that were held in each capital city as we prepared for the Summit earlier in the year. As part of the consultative process, I also invited formal expressions of interest for representation on the delegation from the State and Territory governments, local government, environment NGOs, development NGOs and industry/business though their peak representative bodies.

"While details are still being finalised by some groups, I can confirm that each of these sectors, as well as the Federal Opposition, will be included on the official delegation."

State and Territory governments registered their interest through the Queensland Government and have nominated representatives to the Australian delegation at both the official and Ministerial level.

Business representatives were nominated by the Business Council of Australia, the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Environment Business Australia. The National Environment Consultative Forum has nominated two representatives, and the Australian Council for Overseas Aid (ACFOA) has nominated one representative.

Commonwealth officials will represent Environment Australia, Ausaid, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources, and the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

"This is a working delegation that will work constructively for practical and achievable outcomes, promote Australia's strong record in implementing sustainable development at home and through international partnerships and build on our bilateral and regional relations," Dr Kemp said. Australia's priorities will be to:

In addition to the official delegation, many Australian organisations and individuals will attend the Summit in various capacities. For example, it is understood that approximately 50 local government representatives will be present, many of whom will be part of the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives.

For more information on the World Summit on Sustainable Development, please visit the Environment Australia web site at:

Media contact:
Catherine Job (02) 6277 7640 or 0408 648 400

World Summit on Sustainable Development Australia's Delegation as at 20 August 2002


The Hon Dr David Kemp MP
Minister for the Environment and Heritage

Mr Roger Beale
Secretary for Environment and Heritage

Mr Howard Bamsey
Deputy Secretary, Environment Australia

HE Mr Chris Langman
Ambassador for the Environment

The Hon Kelvin Thomson MP
Shadow Minister for the Environment and Heritage

Dr Peter Poggioli
Chief of Staff, Office of the Minister for the Environment and Heritage

The Commonwealth will also be represented by officers from:

Environment Australia
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Australian High Commission, Pretoria
Australian Permanent Mission to the UN
Agriculture, Fisheries, and Forestry Australia
Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources


The Hon Dr Judith Edwards MLA
Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Western Australia

The Hon Bill Wood MLA
ACT Minister for Urban Services

Dr Joe Baker
Commissioner for the Environment, Australian Capital Territory

Ms Nicola Davies
Conservation Council of SE Region and Canberra

Dr Ian McPhail
Mr Terry Harper
Queensland Environmental Protection Agency

Mr Peter Hendy
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Grant Hill
TEAR/Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Ms Maggie Hine
Department of Environment and Heritage, South Australia

Mr Mitchell Hooke
Minerals Council of Australia

Mr Bruce Lloyd
Australian Landcare Council

Mayor Lynn Mason
Local Government Association of Tasmania

Ms Chloe Munro
Department of Natural Resources and Environment, Victoria

Mr John Pritchard
Australian Local Government Association

Mr Shane Rattenbury
Greenpeace Australia Pacific

Mr Mike Williamson
Environment Business Australia

Mr Ian Wood
BHP Billiton

Mr Alan Wu
University of Melbourne - student representative

Commonwealth of Australia