Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Joint Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp
Minister for Forestry and Conservation
Senator Ian Macdonald

8 August 2002

New Western Australian Natural Heritage Trust Panel

A panel for the new Australian Government Envirofund, a $20 million Commonwealth programme to encourage local community environment groups, has been appointed.

The Western Australian State Assessment Panel (SAP) for the Australian Government Envirofund was announced today by the Federal Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Dr David Kemp and Federal Minister for Forestry and Conservation, Senator Ian Macdonald.

Australian Government Envirofund is the programme of the Howard Government’s $2.5 billion Natural Heritage Trust to help community groups or individuals protect local areas with conservation values.

The Western Australian SAP consists of 12 community representatives and two Commonwealth officers.

The Ministers said they were pleased to announce that Mr Alex Campbell, has been appointed Chairman of the Western Australian SAP.

Alex Campbell is currently chair of the Cooperative Research Centre for Plant Based Management of Dryland Salinity and was chair of the Western Australian SAP under the first phase of the Natural Heritage Trust.

Local government will be provided to the panel through Cr Jan Star, President of the Serpentine-Jarrahdale District Council and member of the WA Local Government Association.

They will be assisted by Mr Rex Edmondson, who is currently chair of the WA Natural Resource Management Council and Landcare Trust and will bring to the panel a strong background in sustainable farming systems and Mr Richard Diggins, OAM, who will also bring a wealth of experience in local government and regional water management issues.

Other members include Dr Bruce Hamilton, who has extensive experience in environmental, natural resource and water management; Mr Glen Kelly, representing indigenous land management issues; Mr Tim Lynch, who will bring an understanding of coastal and marine management and Ms Rachel Siewert from the Conservation Council of Western Australia.

The Western Australian SAP met for the first time today to begin assessing applications for Australian Government Envirofund grants of up to $30,000.

For further information on the Australian Government Envirofund please visit the Natural Heritage Trust website at or call toll-free 1800 065 823.

Media contacts:
Catherine Job Dr Kemp’s office (02) 6277 7640 or 0408 648 400
Zac Donovan Senator Macdonald’s office (02) 6277 7270 or 0438 611 296

Commonwealth of Australia