Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Joint Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp
Minister for Forestry and Conservation
Senator Ian Macdonald

8 August 2002

New South Australian Natural Heritage Trust Panel

A panel for the new Australian Government Envirofund, a $20 million Commonwealth programme to encourage local community environment groups, has been appointed.

The South Australian State Assessment Panel (SAP) for the Australian Government Envirofund was announced today by the Federal Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Dr David Kemp and Federal Minister for Forestry and Conservation, Senator Ian Macdonald.

Australian Government Envirofund is the programme of the Howard Government’s $2.5 billion Natural Heritage Trust to help community groups or individuals protect local areas with conservation values.

The South Australian SAP consists of 15 community representatives and two Commonwealth officers.

The Ministers said they were pleased to announce that Mr John Berger, of Mindarie, has been appointed Chairman of the South Australian SAP. He was chair of the South Australian SAP under the first phase of the Natural Heritage Trust, bringing with him expertise in sustainable agriculture and a wealth of experience in natural resource management.

Local government experience will be provided to the panel through Cr John Legoe, of the Kingston District Council and Vice President of the Local Government Association of SA State Executive.

They will be assisted by Mr Bill McIntosh, a member of the SA Soil Conservation Council who also has a strong background in sustainable farming systems; Ms Leonie Casey, of Kingston SE, representing indigenous land management issues; Ms Vicki-Jo Russell, of Adelaide, on threatened species issues; and Ms Patsy Mendham from the Conservation Council of SA.

Other members include Ms Sharon Starick, of Cambrai, who has a strong background in sustainable agriculture; Ms Penny Paton from the National Parks and Wildlife Council; Mr Damien Morony, of Adelaide, who has extensive experience in coastal and marine matters; Mr Michael Pearson, a farmer from Cummins who has first-hand experience in landcare management; Ms Lorraine Rosenberg, General Manager of the SA Fishing Industry Council; and Mr Wayne Cornish from the SA Water Resources Council.

The South Australian SAP met for the first time last week to begin assessing applications for Australian Government Envirofund grants of up to $30,000.

For further information on the Australian Government Envirofund please visit the Natural Heritage Trust website at or call toll-free on 1800 065 823.

Media contacts:
Catherine Job Dr Kemp’s office (02) 6277 7640 or 0408 648 400
Zac Donovan Senator Macdonald’s office (02) 6277 7270 or 0438 611 296

Commonwealth of Australia