Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts logo
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts home page

Archived media releases and speeches


Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Media Release
Minister for the Environment and Heritage
Dr David Kemp

4 July 2002

Australian Local Governments Delivering on Greenhouse Gas Reductions

Minister for the Environment and Heritage, Dr David Kemp today congratulated Victoria's Cities for Climate Protection Australia at a recognition ceremony at Billilla Historic Mansion in Brighton. The ceremony celebrated the achievements of Local Government in delivering greenhouse gas abatement.

Australian local governments are among the most proactive in the world for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and 150 councils, representing over 60 percent of the Australian population, have signed on to the Cities for Climate Protection Australia program to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions.

"The Cities for Climate Protection (CCP) program is an innovative international program, which assists local governments and their communities to reduce greenhouse gas emissions," Dr Kemp said.

CCP Australia is a world leader, having the fastest uptake over a three-year period and the highest number of participating councils of any CCP program worldwide. Through the Cities for Climate Protection program, local councils have an opportunity to draw on international expertise and world best practice to develop effective greenhouse solutions at a local level.

This joint initiative of the Howard Government, The Australian Greenhouse Office and the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI) is backed by $13 million in Commonwealth funding and is based on a Milestone approach.

Councils join the Program with a Resolution before moving through the five Milestones beginning at milestone one where emission levels are identified moving on to setting a greenhouse gas reduction goal, developing and implementing an action plan to achieve that goal and evaluating the success of their achievements.

"Today we celebrate a remarkable achievement, with 16 Councils around Australia now having reached Milestone 5," Dr Kemp said.

"It is a credit to the people of this State that 7 of those 16 councils are in Victoria.

"Today I congratulate the cities of Boroondara, Greater Dandenong, Frankston and Moreland for reaching Milestone 5, joining Melbourne City Council, the City of Port Phillip and the City of Melville as CCP international program leaders.

The Minister also recognised the achievements of 13 other Victorian CCP Councils reaching program milestones.

"I would like to congratulate all the Councils here today for their commitment to the program, their leadership and actions in delivering greenhouse gas abatement." Dr Kemp said.

"The Program is an excellent example of how Federal and local governments can work together to achieve significant financial and environmental benefits for the community. It is great to see so many councils progressing through the program, and I encourage them to continue demonstrating leadership at the local level," Dr Kemp said.

For further information, see or

Media contacts:
Dr Kemp's office: Catherine Job 0408 648 400
Australian Greenhouse Office Bronwyn Pollock (02) 6274 1994

Cities for Climate Protection Australia


Milestones in Brief:

Milestone 1: Prepare an emissions inventory and estimate emissions growth

Milestone 2: Establish an emissions reduction goal

Milestone 3: Developing a local action plan

Milestone 4: Implementing the local action plan

Milestone 5: Monitoring and reporting on the implementation of the local action plan

There are Sixteen Milestone 5 Councils to Date:

Victoria (7): Melbourne City Council, City of Port Phillip, City of Melville, Moreland City Council, City of Boroondara, City of Greater Dandenong, Frankston City Council.

South Australia (2): City of Adelaide, City of Mitcham

Queensland (3): Brisbane City Council, Gold Coast City Council, Maroochy Shire Council

New South Wales (3): Canada Bay Council, Hornsby Shire Council, Manly Council

Western Australia (1): Town of Vincent

Greenhouse Abatement:

Commonwealth of Australia