World Heritage Places - Tasmanian Wilderness


The Tasmanian Wilderness is one of the three largest temperate wilderness areas remaining in the Southern Hemisphere. The region is home to some of the deepest and longest caves in Australia. It is renowned for its diversity of flora, and some of the longest lived trees and tallest flowering plants in the world grow in the area. The Tasmanian Wilderness is a stronghold for several animals that are either extinct or threatened on mainland Australia.

In the southwest Aboriginal people developed a unique cultural tradition based on a specialized stone and bone toolkit that enabled the hunting and processing of a single prey species (Bennett's wallaby) that provided nearly all of their dietary protein and fat. Extensive limestone cave systems contain rock art sites that have been dated to the end of the Pleistocene period. Southwest Tasmanian Aboriginal artistic expression during the last Ice Age is only known from the dark recesses of limestone caves.

The Tasmanian Wilderness was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1982 and extended in 1989, June 2010, June 2012 and again in June 2013.

The Tasmanian Wilderness was one of 15 world heritage places included in the National Heritage List on 21 May 2007.

Listing information

World Heritage Place

National Heritage Place

The Tasmanian government, supported by the Commonwealth government, has committed to the development of a contemporary management plan for the property. Funding is being provided to develop a contemporary statutory management plan for the property. A project team within the Tasmanian Department of Primary Industry Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE) has been established to oversee the formulation of the new management plan. For further information about this project please contact DPIPWE, details are available from their website:


Click an image for a larger view.

 Nicola Bryden  Nicola Bryden  Nicola Bryden  Nicola Bryden  Steve Johnson