Land Sector Package

The Land Sector Carbon and Biodiversity Board

About the Board

The Land Sector Carbon and Biodiversity Board is an independent advisory body reporting to the Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities. The Board consists of a Chair and four members. Members are jointly appointed by the Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities and the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, in consultation with the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency. Members are appointed based on their knowledge and experience in fields relevant to the Board's functions.

Board membership

The Board membership consists of:

The Hon Robert Debus AM (Chair)

The Hon Robert Debus AM

Mr Robert Debus has expertise in environmental policy, governance and law. A former state and federal government Minister, Mr Debus is the Independent Chair of the National Wildlife Corridors Plan Advisory Group which is assisting in the development of the Australian Government's National Wildlife Corridors Plan.

Professor Lesley Hughes

Professor Lesley Hughes

Prof Lesley Hughes is an expert in the impacts of climate change on species and ecosystems. She is a professorial fellow with the Department of Biological Sciences, Macquarie University, a commissioner on the Climate Commission, and a lead author on the IPCC fourth and fifth assessment reports.

Mr David Crombie

David Cronbie

Mr David Crombie is a Director of GRM International, Australian Agricultural Company, Alliance Aviation Services and Foodbank (Queensland) and is a Commissioner of the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research. He was formerly President of the National Farmers Federation, Chairman of Meat and Livestock Australia and Chairman of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

Mr Joe Ross

Joe Ross

Mr Joe Ross is the former Chair of the Northern Australia Land and Water Taskforce. He is a member of the Bunuba people in the Kimberley region of Western Australia. Joe has been prominent in facilitating the development of the National Indigenous Climate Change Project.

Ms Anna Skarbek

Anna Skarbek

Ms Anna Skarbek is the Executive Director of ClimateWorks Australia, and is a director of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, the Carbon Market Institute, the Sustainable Melbourne Fund and the Thermometer Foundation for Social Research on Climate Change.