Department of the Environment

About us | Contact us | Publications

Header imagesHeader imagesHeader images



Key departmental publications, e.g. annual reports, budget papers and program guidelines are available in our online archive.

Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

State of the Marine Environment Report for Australia: State and Territory Issues - Technical Annex 3

Edited by Leon P. Zann and David Sutton
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, Townsville Queensland
Department of the Environment, Sport and Territories, Canberra (1996)
ISBN 0 642 23012 9


AAS Atomic Absorption Spectrometry
AMD Acid Mine Drainage
ANCA Australian Nature Conservation Agency
ANZEC Australian and New Zealand Environment Council
ANZECC Australian and New Zealand Environment and Conservation Council
AOX Adsorbable Organic Halogen (Edyvane)
AOX Adsorbable Organic Halide (Richardson)
APM Australian Paper Manufacturers
APM Australian Paper Mills (Rees)
APPM Australian Pulp and Paper Manufacturers
ASV Anode Stripping Voltammetry
BHAS Broken Hill Associated Smelters
BHP Broken Hill Proprietry
BOD Biochemical Oxygen Demand
CCNT Conservation Commission of the Northern Territory
CEPA Commonwealth Environmental Protection Agency
CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
DASET Department of Arts, Sport, Environment and Territories
DBIRD Department of Business, Industry and Regional Development
DELM Department of Environment and Land Management
DENR Department of Environment and Natural Resources
DEP Department of Environment and Planning
DEST Department of Environment, Sport and Territories
DOE Department of Environment
DPI Department of Primary Industries
DSP Diarrhetic Shellfish Poisoning
EAC East Australian Current
EDTA Ethylenediamine tetraacetic acid
EMP Environmental Monitoring Program
EOX Extractable Organic Halogen
EPA Environment Protection Authority
EPCSA Environment Protection Council of South Australia
ESD Ecologically Sustainable Development
GBRMPA Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
GIS Geographical Information Service
HCB Hexaclorobenzene
ICPMS Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry
ILZRO International Lead Zinc Research Organisation
IUCN International Union for the Conservation of Nature
MARPOL International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships
MERP Marine Environment Protection Agency
MRL Maximum Residual Limits
NFR Nonfilterable Residues
NH&MRC National Health and Medical Research Council
NSW New South Wales
NT Northern Territory
OPUD Office of Planning and Urban Development
PAH Polyaromatic Hydrocarbon
PCB Polychlorinated Biphenyl
PSP Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning
QCFO Queensland Commercial Fishing Organisation
QDEH Queensland Department of Environment and Heritage
QDPI Queensland Department of Primary Industries
Qld Queensland
QTTC Queensland Tourism and Travel Corporation
RAC Resource Assessment Commission
SA South Australia
SAAC South Australian Aquaculture Committee
SAFIC South Australian Fishing Industry Council
SARDI South Australian Research and Development Institute
SCUBA Self Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus
SEMP Shellfish Environmental Monitoring Program
SEPP State Environment Protection Policy
SPCC State Pollution Control Commission
STP Sewage Treatment Plant
TAG Technical Advisory Group
Tas. Tasmania
TBT Tributyltin
TCM Total Catchment Management
TEMP Tuna Environmental Monitoring Program
UNEP United Nations Environment Program
USEPA United States Environment Agency
Vic. Victoria
WA Western Australia