Department of the Environment

About us | Contact us | Publications

Header imagesHeader imagesHeader images



Key departmental publications, e.g. annual reports, budget papers and program guidelines are available in our online archive.

Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Resource Assessment Commission Coastal Zone Inquiry - Final Report November 1993

Resource Assessment Commission, November 1993
ISBN 0 64429457


AAAC Australian Aboriginal Affairs Council

AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal

ABARE Australian Bureau of Agriculture and Resource Economics

ABS Australian Bureau of Statistics

ACF Australian Conservation Foundation

ACIAR Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

ACS Australian Customs Service

AEC Australian Environment Council

AFMA Australian Fisheries Management Authority

AGPS Australian Government Publishing Service

AGSO Australian Geological Survey Organisation

AHC Australian Heritage Commission

AHD Australian height datum

AHIDC Australian Housing Industry Development Council

AIAS Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies

AIMS Australian Institute of Marine Science

ALGA Australian Local Government Association

ALGTB Australian Local Government Training Board

AMIC Australian Mining Industry Council

AMC Australian Manufacturing Council

AMSA Australian Maritime Safety Authority

ANAO Australian National Audit Office

ANCA Australian Nature Conservation Agency (formally ANPWS)

ANOP Australian National Opinion Polls

ANPWS Australian National Parks and Wildlife Service (now ANCA)

ANSTO Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

ANU Australian National University

ANZECC Australian and New Zealand Environment and Conservation Council

ANZFAC Australian and New Zealand Fisheries and Aquaculture Council

ANZLIC Australian and New Zealand Land Information Council

ANZMEC Australian and New Zealand Minerals and Energy Council

APEA Australian Petroleum Exploration Association

APEC Australian Pacific Economic Cooperation

AQIS Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service

ARC Australian Research Council

ARMCANZ Agriculture and Resources Management Council of Australia and New Zealand

ASTEC Australian Science and Technology Council

ATIA Australian Tourism Industry Association

ATSIC Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission

AUBRCC Australian Uniform Building Regulations Co-ordinating Council

AUSLIG Australian Surveying and Land Information Group

AWRC Australian Water Resources Council

AWWA Australian Water and Wastewater Association

BIE Bureau of Industry Economics

BIR Bureau of Immigration Research

BRR Bureau of Rural Resources

BRS Bureau of Resource Sciences

BTR Bureau of Tourism Research

CAMRIS Coastal and Marine Resources Information System

CAR Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation

CEPA Commonwealth Environment Protection Agency

CER Consultative Environmental Review

COAG Council of Australian Governments

COMARIS Coastal Marine Information System

CONCOM Council of Nature Conservation Ministers

COPE Coastal Observation Program, Engineering

CPI consumer price index

CRC cooperative research centre

CRES Centre for Resource and Environmental Studies, ANU

CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

CSST Coordination Committee for Science and Technology

CYPLUS Cape York Peninsula Land Use Strategy

DASET Department of the Arts, Sport, the Environment and Territories

DEET Department of Employment, Education and Training

DEH Department of Environment and Heritage

DEST Department of the Environment, Sport and Territories

DHHLGCS Department of Health, Housing, Local Government and Community Services

DITAC Department of Industry, Technology and Commerce

DTRD Department of Industry, Technology and Regional Development

DoT Department of Tourism

DOTAC Department of Transport and Communications

DPI Department of Primary Industries

DPIFE Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Energy

DPIE Department of Primary Industries and Energy

EES environmental effects statement

EIA environmental impact assessment

EIS environmental impact statement

EMIAA Environment Management Industry Association of Australia

EMP Environmental Monitoring Program

EPA Environment Protection Authority

ERIN Environmental Resources Information Network

ERMP Environmental Review and Management Program

ESD ecologically sustainable development

FRDC Fisheries Research and Development Corporation

GDP gross domestic product

GBRMPA Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority

GIS geographic information system

HOMA Heads of Marine Agencies

HORSCEC House of Representatives Standing Committee on Environment and Conservation

HORSCERA House of Representatives Standing Committee on Environment, Recreation and the Arts

ICC Island Coordinating Council (Torres Strait)

ICLEI International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives

IDAS Integrated Development Approval System

IGAE Intergovernmental Agreement on the Environment

ILAP Integrated Local Area Planning

IMO International Maritime Organisation

IPC Indicative Planning Council

IPCC Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

IUCN International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources

LARP Local Approvals Review Program

LGDP Local Government Development Program

LGEIES Local Government Environmental Information Exchange Scheme

LWRRDC Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation

MARPOL International Convention for the Prevention of Marine Pollution from Ships

MaSTS Marine Strategy for the Torres Strait

MAV Municipal Association of Victoria

MDB Murray-Darling Basin

MCCN Marine and Coastal Community Network

MSTGS Marine Science and Technology Grants Scheme

NARU North Australia Research Unit, ANU

NatMIS National Marine Information System

NEPA National Environment Protection Agency

NHMRC National Health and Medical Research Council

NHS National Housing Strategy

NLP National Landcare Program

NOHSC National Occupational Health and Safety Commission

NRIC National Resource Information Centre

NUDP National Urban Development Program

OCS Offshore Constitutional Settlement

OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

OLG Office of Local Government

ORANI econometric model of the Australian economy used by various Commonwealth government agencies

PM&C Prime Minister and Cabinet

PZJA Protected Zone Joint Authority

RAC Resource Assessment Commission

RACI Royal Australian Chemical Institute

RAN Royal Australian Navy

RMIT Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology

ROSTSEA Regional Office for Science and Technology for Southeast Asia

SCERA Senate Committee on Environment, Recreation and the Arts

SPREP South Pacific Regional Environment Programme

TASQUE consultancy unit of the University of Tasmania

TSQAP Tasmanian Shellfish Quality Assurance Program

UNCED United Nations Conference on Environment and Development

UNEP United Nations Environment Program

UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation

VIMS Victorian Institute of Marine Sciences

WWF World Wide Fund for Nature