Department of the Environment

About us | Contact us | Publications

About us header images - leftAbout us header images - centreAbout us header images - right

Publications archive - Annual reports


Key departmental publications, e.g. annual reports, budget papers and program guidelines are available in our online archive.

Much of the material listed on these archived web pages has been superseded, or served a particular purpose at a particular time. It may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. Many archived documents may link to web pages that have moved or no longer exist, or may refer to other documents that are no longer available.

Department of the Environment and Heritage Annual Report 2002-03

Department of the Environment and Heritage, 2003
ISSN 1441 9335

Operation of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (continued)

Appendix 3. Functions and membership of Advisory Committees established under the Act

Threatened Species Scientific Committee

Under section 503 of the Act, the functions of the Threatened Species Scientific Committee are:

Table 13. Membership of the threatened species scientific committee
Name Area of expertise
Associate Professor Bob Beeton (Chair) Environmental problem solving
Dr Sue Briggs Ecological communities
Dr Alan Butler Marine ecology
Dr Dean Graetz Extinction processes
Professor Gordon Grigg Animals
Dr Jill Landsberg Landscape ecology
Dr Libby Mattiske Plants
Dr Pamela Parker Landscape recovery
Mr Michael Sutherland Rural science

Biological Diversity Advisory Committee

Under section 505 of the Act the functions of the Biological Diversity Advisory Committee are:

The terms of reference for the committee as provided by the Minister on 7 July 2000 are to advise:

Table 14. Membership of the biological diversity advisory committee
Name Group represented
Prof. Hugh Possingham (Chair)
Dr Gerry Cassis
Dr Patricia Mather
Ms Imogen Zethoven
Dr Steve Morton
Scientific communityTerrestrial speciesMarine species
Ass. Prof. Stephan Schnierer Indigenous peoples
Cn Jan Star Local government
Mr Bill Sloane Rural community
Mr Alistair Graham Conservation organisations
Mr Keiran McNamara Australian & New Zealand Environment and Conservation Council (now subsumed by the Natural Resource Management Ministerial Council)
Dr Rhondda Dickson Commonwealth
Prof. Robert Kearney Fishing industry
Mr Tim Dyer Business community
Ms Francine McCarthy Indigenous Advisory Committee
Prof. Ralf Buckley Tourism

Indigenous Advisory Committee

Under section 505B of the Act, the function of the Indigenous Advisory Committee is to advise the Minister on the operation of the Act, taking into account the significance of Indigenous people's knowledge of the management of land and the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity.

Table 15. Membership of the indigenous advisory committee
Member State
Mr Rocky Sainty (Chair) Tasmania
Mr Glen Kelly (Deputy Chair) Western Australia
Mr Leon Atkinson Victoria
Mr Kevin Walley Western Australia
Mr John Chester South Australia
Ms Melissa George Queensland
Ms Darcel Moyle Victoria/Queensland
Ms Francine McCarthy Northern Territory
Ms Larissa Behrendt New South Wales
Mr Robert Carroll New South Wales
Mr Joe Morrison Northern Territory
Mr Vic McGrath Queensland